Historical tour conceived

Historical tour conceived

"We want to tell stories, says georg zipfel. Stories like that of the schlusselfeld mortuary, which was built in the 1950s. In addition to this "one-off construction" schlusselfeld has many other treasures in its time-honored walls. "Lifted" the treasures do not have to become more. But the aim is to bring them more into the public eye. That’s why the creation of a historic loop road was on the agenda of the city council meeting and is now a done deal.

The idea, says mayor johannes krapp, has been around for a long time. He took it up again, after the LAG sudlicher steigerwald still fordermittel were available. The corresponding application will probably be discussed in the next LAG meeting.

With georg zipfel, the master of the old town, and friedel auer, the director of the town museum, krapp also had two experts on hand who wanted to take on the distinctive buildings and their history. Now a concept is ready, which includes 28 buildings and statues for a circular route. With the exception of the old schlusselfelder railroad station, all of them are located in the town center. Once around the old town, that makes about two kilometers. For the schlusselfelder itself, but also for the many tourists a beautiful walk. There is a lot to see along the way. In the future, acrylic glass display boards and flyers will draw attention to the most prominent sites. In addition, after the installation of the boards, data and facts can be transferred directly to a cell phone via a QR code.

Old town master at the front of the pack

Old castle master georg zipfel grew up directly at the market place. The native of schlusselfeld is very interested in history and especially in the history of his hometown. What he does not know himself, he collects from various archives. However, zipfel does not orient itself exclusively on aspects of monument preservation. The mortuary in the schlusselfeld cemetery, for example, is unique in its construction and is therefore particularly interesting. "The stones used for the construction came entirely from the "schlusselfelder burgerwald", he tells. At that time, city workers had found a rock block in the middle of the forest, which was so coarse that it was sufficient for the complete construction.

As a "social monument the old cattle scales, for example, are also to be included in the circular route. Everyone knows the town hall with its ten barn or the picturesque town gate anyway. The traffic from the city passes through the wall of the old city fortification. But who knows that schlusselfeld had another town gate at the eastern entrance or a municipal brewery, of which nothing can be seen today??

The towers of the town – the kappelturm in the area of the church, the pulverturm in the town garden and the schuldenturm near the marienkapelle – are probably only known to the locals. A gothic crucifixion group on pfarrer-weibenberger-strabe also has a rather quiet existence. Four houses of the same type in the old town still pose a challenge to the local historians: can they perhaps be attributed to one of balthasar neumann’s pupils??

But also works of art from a more recent past – for example the stelae by gudrun pfrogner behind the marienkapelle – have the chance to be included in the circular route. And finally, the oldest building in the city: the leg house from 1493. In the immediate vicinity of the parish church of st. John, there is evidence that the area around the church was a cemetery until about 1850.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.